The Golden Man Booker Prize

The shortlist has just been announced for The Golden Man Booker Prize – A special one-off prize to celebrate 50 years of the Man Booker.

Each of the five judges judge read the winners of a particular decade and picked one book. The five that were chosen are the shortlist:

  • 2010 – to present: Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders;
  • 2000-2009: Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel;
  • 1990-2000: The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje;
  • 1980-1990: Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively; and
  • 1970-1980: In A Free State by V.S. Naipaul.

Voting is open to the public (follow this link) and there is plenty of buzz on Twitter and Instagram using the hashtag #ManBookerPrize50.

I will be there on the 8th July to see the announcement of the winner but first I’ll need to get reading the shortlist so that I can vote!

Any recommendations on which one to start with?

Do you consider the choices a good decision? I’m slightly surprised the Booker of Bookers (celebrating the 25th anniversary of the prize) Salman Rushdie didn’t feature.

4 thoughts on “The Golden Man Booker Prize

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s